Take it Off! πŸ’‹

This is the part of the day I like the least. It’s the makeup removal routine. I get so jealous of my boyfriend climbing straight in to bed when I know I have to spend half the evening taking off what I so delicately put on my face several hours before.

But it is essential!! I can’t stress that enough. There have been times when I’ve slept in the previous days make up and karma, in the form of an almighty spot, has already struck.

IMG_1119

In order to keep your skin healthy, it is vital that you take your makeup off (properly) every evening. Otherwise you’ll end up with clogged pores and yep, you guessed it, spots.

Your skin should be washed twice daily. In the morning you’re washing away the toxins that are released during your sleep, and the night you’re washing away the makeup and impurities that have built up on the skin during the day.

There are 3 steps to follow when removing your makeup – though you may already have your own routine that works!

(Before I start this process, I use NIVEA Daily Essentials Double Effect Eye Makeup Remover to take off my mascara as it is less harsh around my eyes.)

  1. The first step is to cleanse, removing any makeup that you’re wearing. Remember to use products that you’re skin loves and works well with your type. If you have normal, sensitive or dry skin, use a cleansing milk and a cotton pad. Do not use a cleansing milk on oily or combination skin as they contain oil – use a gel based cleanser.
  2. Next, you need to tone your skin to remove excess makeup and any other impurities. You should use a cotton pad for this or gently pat on to the skin if you don’t wear makeup. It’s best to use soothing products for sensitive skin, astringent toners for oily skin and if you suffer from Acne, use an anti bacterial toner.
  3. Finally you need to hydrate you skin, apply a moisturiser that suits your skin type.

And that’s it! You’re ready for bed.

It’s a long process, but it definitely pays off.

Do you have a routine? Share it in the comments below!

I hope to extend on the topic of skincare a little more in the future, but for next time, I’ll be going doing aΒ contouring 101.

Love X

 

 

3 thoughts on “Take it Off! πŸ’‹

  1. Im soooo bad at removing my makeup at the end of the day but have been trying to improve my bad habits, have you tried The Body Shops Camomile Makeup Remover? It’s so good literally saturates everything then you just wipe away with warm water x

    Like

Leave a Reply

